Primal, Real-food Chicken Pot Pie!

I have been making chicken pot pie for years. It was probably one of the first things I learned to “cook”. I use the term “cook” lightly, because it involved Bisquick, a can of cream of chicken, and frozen vegetables (as well as chicken and cooked potatoes). I’ve continued to make this quick favourite for Josh and myself– until now!

Well, I mean I’ll still make it, minus the can and box.

Today I made a primal, real-food Chicken Pot Pie with Mashed Potato Topping. I had planned on making a post about the whole pie, but it was so good and I was so hungry, I only got half-eaten pictures of the finished product. (; Oops. It’s really good and easier than I thought to make! This is a meal that is easily prepared ahead of time and frozen, as well.

Note: This is easily adapted to be gluten-free! I don’t eat GF though, so my pie had a crust and has flour in it to thicken the cream. I have put in substitutes for the flour, though. (;

Adapted from Chicken Pot Pie with Mashed Potatoes Recipe on Food Network
Ingredients:

Cream of Chicken Filling:
– 2 tbsp salted butter from grass-fed cows
– 2  potatoes of your choice, diced (optional)
– 1 onion, chopped
– 2 leeks, chopped
– 1 carrot, chopped
– any other preferred fresh vegetables (I had peas, corn, lima beans, and green beans in mine!)
– 2 tsp minced garlic
– 1 1/2 cups chicken stock
– 1 cup of the best milk you can find (I use milk from cows who don’t receive artificial hormones)
– 1/2 cup flour or 1 1/2 tbsp cornstarch/arrowroot if you’re going GF
– Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
– 2 of the best boneless chicken breasts you can find (ours is from chickens who don’t receive artificial hormones)
– 1 tbsp thyme
– 1 tbsp parsley leaves

Potato Topping:
5 potatoes of your choice, diced
3/4 cup of the best heavy cream you can find (I use milk from cows who don’t receive artificial hormones)
1/4 cup salted butter from grass-fed cows
Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.

In a medium skillet melt the butter over medium high heat, saute the potatoes, onions, leeks, carrots, and garlic until golden, as well as any other fresh vegetables you’d like, i.e. peas, green beans, lima beans. Add the chicken stock and simmer for 20 minutes until the vegetables are tender. Mix the flour and milk until smooth and add to the vegetables, and cook until thickened. Season, to taste, with salt and pepper.

Season the chicken with salt and pepper. In a large skillet heat the oil over high heat and sear the chicken until golden. Cut seared chicken into 1/2 inch chunks and add it, the thyme, and parsley to the vegetables and set side.

For the topping: Put the potatoes in a large pot and cover with water, season with salt.

Over high heat bring to a boil and simmer until tender. Drain the potatoes and let them sit for 5 minutes to steam dry. Mash the potatoes with a hand mixer. Warm the cream and stir into the potatoes. Mix in the butter. Season, to taste.

To assemble the pot pie, fill a pie pan with filling and top with the mashed potatoes. Bake for 45 minutes.

One thought on “Primal, Real-food Chicken Pot Pie!

  1. Sounds delicious! I think it was perfectly reasonable to use a picture of a half-eaten pie. Besides, it shows us all the yummy filling!!!
    If you were trying to go grain-free, it has been my experience that arrowroot powder works just as well as cornstarch for most things. I would give it a try here! 😉

Leave a Reply

