Spicy Slow-Cooker Turkey Chili

It’s not officially fall, but right after Labour Day, the weather cooled down and there’s an autumn aroma in the air.

I’ve been eating apple bagels and drinking hot lattés, buying harvest vegetables, anticipating fall activities, and cooking fall foods. One of which being a spicy slow-cooker turkey chili. 

One of my old roommates used to make turkey chili in his crock pot every weekend when he would go skiing. If I was lucky, I would get a bowl of rice and chili. It’s so simple and easy, and so delicious.

So I decided to take a whack at making my own. (:

I added more vegetables and legumes, and I made it spicier. I used Diavolo red sauce in my chili. We get Diavolo sauce every time we go to the market. I’m really not partial to plain tomato sauce. Diavolo, for those who don’t know, is red sauce with chili powder and dried chili flakes.*

 

 

Ingredients:

– 1 lb ground turkey, turkey sausage (different spiced ones to mix it up!), or a mix of both
– 1 can (drained) black beans
– 1 can (drained) pinto beans
– 1 can (drained) red kidney beans
– 1 cup corn, frozen or drained can
– 1/2 onion, coarsely chopped
– 1 tomato, coarsely chopped
– 2 cups Diavolo red sauce*
– 1/2 tspn chili powder
– 1 tspn fresh minced garlic (optional)
– 1/2 tspn parsley (optional)
– 1/2 tspn oregano (optional)
– 1/2 tspn basil (optional)
– salt and pepper, to taste

Instructions:

Cook the turkey in a skillet until done. Add onions while cooking (optional).

Add ingredients in crock pot. Cook on low for approximately five hours, stirring occasionally. 

Serve with rice, topped with grated cheddar cheese and fresh chives, and extra hot sauce if you like it extra hot!

Makes approximately 6 servings.

Leave a Reply

