Easy and simple buttercream frosting– never buy frosting again!

I’ve been productive as of late– I spent the last three days cleaning, cooking, baking, painting, running errands, organising, and doing anything else that needed to be done with the help of my lovely Sara.

And yes, that’s right, I said baking! Not that I haven’t been baking, I just have been lazy baking. However last night and today we baked and frosted this year’s Valentine’s Day (and Lent…? Darn! We could have made some sort of offensive pope-quitting joke for that..) sweetheart cookies. They’re the same as last year’s, but much more offensive, and I halved the recipe this time so I didn’t have a metric ton of sugar cookies. (:

This year’s cookies say “Gay 4 U” again, “Your Cute” (yes, I know that’s the wrong “your”), “Hate U”, “Uggo”, and other offensive and/or grammatically incorrect things.

However, I wanted to post for two reasons– the first being that it’s been about six months since I’ve posted, and I don’t want to give up on my blog. The second being that too many people don’t know how to make damn frosting. It peeves me to no end. I work at Joann Fabrics and Crafts and all together too many people– even ones who claim to be professionals– buy canned frosting without an expiry date. It doesn’t even taste good! So, yes, this post is dedicated to showing off my offensive cookies (despite the poor photos taken off my phone) and the delicious and easy frosting on top of them!

So happy baking, and I better not catch you buying frosting ever again!

Buttercream Frosting Recipe

Ingredients:

– 2 sticks butter room temperature
– about 3 cups confectioner’s sugar
– 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
– about 4 tablespoons milk

Blend butter. Add vanilla, and half cup/cup of sugar, and blend. Continue to add sugar in cup-fulls, and milk when it’s too thick to blend easily. Add sugar/milk until you get the consistency you want– if it’s too thick, add more milk. If it’s too runny, add more sugar. Need more frosting? Add another cup of sugar and about a tablespoon of milk. It’s that easy.

Leave a Reply

